All for Joomla All for Webmasters

Pakistan Super League Twenty 20 (PSLT20)

PSL T20 is a professional cricket league consists of twenty overs (20 over). PSL headquarter is at Lahore and total five teams are involved in it till 2017 edition. All five teams represent the different regions or cities of Pakistan. PSL first two editions were played at United Arab Emirates (UAE) while final match of 2017 edition was played at Lahore. Now third edition of PSL 2018, a new team is going to add in this competition and there is also possibility that more matches will play in Pakistan (Lahore & Karachi).

Pakistan Super League (PSL) is single entity and not connected with Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). All franchises are owned and controlled by its investors. Till 2017 there are five franchises in this league;

Teams Owners
Peshawar Zalmi Haier Pakistan (Javed Afridi)
Islamabad United Leonine Global Sports (Ali Naqvi & Amna Naqvi)
Karachi Kings ARY Media Group (Salman Iqbal)
Lahore Qalandars Qatar Lubricants Company (Fawad Rana)
Quetta Gladiators Omar Associates (Nadeem Omar)

Peshawar Zalmi is the current Champion of PSL 2017 edition. Final match was played at Lahore between Quetta Gladiators vs Peshawar Zalmi on 05 March. Zalmi win this match quite easily by 58 runs. Islamabad United wins the first edition of PSL 2016.

Pakistan Super League (PSL) History:

The idea for PSL was initiated in 2013 but due to lack of planning and some other reasons its attempts continuously failed twice. In September 2015, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) officially announced the PSL and former Pakistani cricketers Ramiz Raja and Wasim Akram signed their responsibilities to promote this league.

After a long journey to start PSL finally in February 04, 2016 first edition was started in United Arab Emirates. There were five teams in it and it was a good 20 over cricket tournament. Second edition was played at similar venue in February – March 2017 while final match was played at Lahore.

The logo of Pakistan Super League (PSL) was launched on 20 September 2015 in a ceremony held at Lahore. Ceremony was attended by current & former cricketers and celebrities of Pakistan.

Expansion of PSL:

Due to its huge popularity Chairman PSL Najam Sethi announced an addition in teams in 2018 edition. There are various groups which are interested to buy PSL franchise and for that purpose bid will be conduct on 31st May for 6th team in this league. Team might be taken from Multan Region, Faisalabad Region, FATA Region, Hyderabad Region, Dera Murad Jamali or Kashmir Region as well. It is possible that sixth team will be announced on 31st of May 2017.

PSL Earning:

Pakistan Super League (PSL) earning is increased very quickly from first edition to second. In first edition of PSL, Officials announced in May 2016 that PSL yields profits in first season $ 2.6 Million. In second edition 2017 profit increased due to its popularity and PSL officials not announced its profits. The profit of PSL 2017 according to sources was more than $ 15 Million. Still it is in growing stage and will pay huge amount of money to its officials.

PSL Teams:

According to Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) press released, initially twenty (20) parties showed their interest to buy a franchise in this league. On 18 October 2015 PCB board accepts tenders for franchise. According to Board parties that win the bid will be given the rights of franchise for 10 years.

Seven parties submitted their documents to PCB in its given time. Interested parties includes; Omar Associates, ARY Media Group, Mobilink, Haier, Qatar Lubricants Company, Arif Habib Group & Leonine Global Sports.  

All five Teams or franchises were sold on 03 December 2015 after seven bidders submitted their proposals.

PSL Sponsorship:

The PSL title sponsorship was awarded to Habib Bank Limited, Pakistan for three years in December 2015. Sponsorship deals including the title sponsorship are approximate to be worth more than $6 Million.         

PSL Broadcasting Rights:

Sunset and Vine were awarded production rights as official broadcasters for the period of three years of the league. In Pakistan; PTV SportsGeo Super and Ten Sports were awarded broadcast rights for the first three years. The worth of the broadcasting rights was $15 million while the PCB sell the global television rights to Tech Front, a United Arab Emirates’ group, for the same period. All PSL Matches are streamed live on YouTube in Pakistan, on official PSL website and via the PSL app. Pakistani viewers can watch the live match stream online on while global viewers can watch live action on


Leave a Comment



Our Partners